September 17, 2021

ISMA elects physician officers, AMA delegation members
Dr. Elizabeth Struble of North Manchester installed as president
Dr. Pardeep Kumar of Terre Haute elected president-elect

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana State Medical Association (ISMA) elected its officers and American Medical Association (AMA) delegation members at its 172nd Annual Convention, held Sept. 10-12, 2021. The event was held virtually for the second year due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

With more than 9,300 members, ISMA is Indiana’s largest professional membership organization dedicated to physicians, medical students and the practice of medicine.

Elizabeth Struble, MD, North Manchester, was sworn in as ISMA president for 2021-2022. And Pardeep Kumar, MD, Terre Haute, was sworn in as ISMA president-elect.

Other ISMA officers sworn in for one-year terms include the following: Speaker of the House of Delegates, Andrew Trobridge, MD, Fishers; vice speaker of the House of Delegates, Alexander Choi, MD, Zionsville; treasurer, William Pond, MD, Fort Wayne; and assistant treasurer, Shalin Arnett, DO, Vincennes.

Six members of ISMA’s delegation to the American Medical Association (AMA) were also sworn in. AMA delegates who were re-elected include Michael Hoover, MD, Evansville; William Mohr, MD, Kokomo; and David Welsh, MD, Batesville. Alternate delegates who were re-elected include Deepak Azad, MD, Floyds Knobs; Heidi M. Dunniway, MD, Evansville; and Stacie Wenk, DO, Evansville. In addition, Roberto Darroca, MD, Muncie, was elected to complete the remaining one-year term of a former alternate delegate. AMA delegation members serve two-year terms and are elected on a staggered basis.

Dr. Elizabeth Struble sworn in as president of ISMA for 2021-2022
Elizabeth Struble, MD, was sworn in as ISMA president at the 172nd Annual ISMA Convention. Dr. Struble is a family practice physician employed by the Lutheran Health Network in North Manchester, Indiana. In addition, she serves as medical director for the Kosciusko Medical Group in Warsaw, Indiana.

She earned her medical degree from the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and her bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan, studying psychology and sociology. She earned her master’s degree in divinity from Union Theological Seminary in New York City. And Dr. Struble is an ordained minister with the Church of the Brethren.

Upon graduating from medical school, Dr. Struble completed a residency program in internal medicine through Fletcher Allen Healthcare in Burlington, Vermont. She then completed her family medicine residency with the Fort Wayne Medical Education Program.

Since joining ISMA in 2009, Dr. Struble has actively advocated on behalf of her patients and the practice of medicine. She has served as president-elect, chair of the Board of Trustees and District 11 trustee. She also has served as a member of the Commission on Legislation and Women in Medicine Committee. In 2020, Dr. Struble was appointed by the Indiana Department of Health to the committee that developed the state’s COVID-19 vaccine distribution plan.

Dr. Struble is married to Ryan Hedstrom, a travel advisor with Creating Magic Vacations. They have two children and reside in North Manchester.

Dr. Pardeep Kumar sworn in as president-elect of ISMA
Pardeep Kumar, MD, was elected and sworn in as ISMA president-elect at the 172nd Annual ISMA Convention. He is set to become ISMA’s next president in September 2022.

Dr. Kumar is an internal medicine physician practicing with Terre Haute Internal Medicine Associates, which he co-founded with his wife, Tejaswini Kumar, MD. He is affiliated with Terre Haute Regional Hospital, Union Hospital and Sullivan County Community Hospital.

He earned his medical degree from Government Medical College, Patiala, Punjab, India, and his undergraduate degree from DAV College, Jalandhar, Punjab, India. Upon graduation from medical school, Dr. Kumar completed his residency training at St. John’s Episcopal Hospital in New York.

Since joining ISMA in 2005, Dr. Kumar has served as treasurer; assistant treasurer; and District 5 president, trustee and alternate trustee; and served on the Commission on Legislation.

# # #

About ISMA:
With more than 8,500 members, the Indiana State Medical Association (ISMA) is the largest physician organization in the state and is dedicated to maximizing physician impact. Learn more about ISMA by visiting ISMA's website or following ISMA on Twitter and Facebook.

Media Contact:
Steve Cooke
Director of Communications
(317) 627-9955