Awards and Scholarships

ISMA Awards

Dr. Kathleen Galbraith Legacy Leadership Award
Kathleen Galbraith, MD, a family physician in Portland, served on the ISMA’s Family Violence Committee for many years. Before her untimely death in 2006, she often spoke to Indiana doctors about screening patients for abuse and the importance of referring them to local programs. The ISMA established the annual Dr. Kathleen Galbraith Legacy Leadership Award in 2007 to honor those who share Dr. Galbraith’s passion of increasing awareness of domestic violence in Indiana.

Nomination deadline: July 17, 2020
Learn more.

Patient Health Advocate Award
The ISMA established the Patient Health Advocate Award in 1999. This annual honor is presented to a non-physician who has made significant contributions to the health and well-being of Hoosier patients. 

Nomination deadline: July 17, 2020
Learn more.

Team Physician Award
The ISMA Team Physician of the Year Award honors an ISMA member who has served an Indiana high school or organized sports team for 20 years or longer.

Nomination deadline: March 2, 2020
Learn more.

Medical Missions
All members engaged in medical mission trips are eligible to apply for the ISMA's Medical Mission Sponsorship of up to $3,000.

The winner will be selected at the November ISMA Board meeting.

Medical student awards

ISMA Indiana University School of Medicine Student Scholarships

The Indiana State Medical Association established this award, funded by the American Medical Association Education and Research Foundation, in 1986. Recipients must be Indiana residents and demonstrate academic achievement and financial need. Learn more.

ISMA Future Physician Leader Award

This award was established in 2017 and is presented each year to an outstanding member of the Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine graduating class.