Go to homepage
News & Publications
The ISMA announces a new interim president-elect
e-Reports, July 14, 2014
Font size: A  AIRSS feedRSSPrint
Untitled document

Heidi Dunniway, M.D., who was elected by the ISMA House of Delegates to serve as its speaker for 2014, has become interim president-elect of the ISMA.

Dr. Dunniway
Heidi Dunniway, M.D.
ISMA president-elect

According to ISMA bylaws (Section 4.02), a special vote by the Board of Trustees was needed to name an interim president-elect after John Wernert, M.D., resigned July 1 to accept the position of secretary of the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration.

Tom Whiteman, M.D., ISMA Board chair, called for nominations from the Board of Trustees; nominations were due July 2. Dr. Dunniway was the only nominee for interim president-elect, and the Board concluded voting by July 5.

Dr. Dunniway will serve until the opening session of the House of Delegates on Friday, Sept. 5, when the entire House will vote to fill the vacancy. If the House ratifies the Board’s decision, electing Dr. Dunniway, she will take the oath on Saturday night to serve as the next ISMA president – becoming the second female to hold that office in the 165-year history of our organization.

Deadlines for ISMA convention - Sept. 5-7
  • Aug. 14 – Hotel reservation deadline
  • Aug. 22 – Convention registration deadline

Learn more and register on the ISMA convention page.

In 1987, Shirley Khalouf, M.D., became the first female ISMA president. Dr. Dunniway will succeed Deepak Azad, M.D., of Scottsburg who is completing his one-year term.

Dr. Dunniway is with Otolaryngology Associates of Indianapolis and has been an ISMA member since 1999. She graduated from the University of Illinois College of Medicine and completed a residency at Ohio State University Medical Center in 1999.

Seeking a leadership position?
Please advise the ISMA if you are considering running for an elected office at this year’s convention. Any ISMA member may step up for the following positions:

  • President-elect
  • Speaker of the House
  • Vice Speaker
  • Treasurer
  • Asst. Treasurer
  • AMA Delegate
  • AMA Alternate Delegate

Please contact Susan Grant at the ISMA at (800) 257-4762.

Copyright: Information written and displayed on www.ismanet.org is the property of ISMA and may not be reproduced without expressed written permission of the Indiana State Medical Association.

For a more detailed sitemap click here.