Go to homepage
About the ISMA
Women in Medicine
The ISMA's Committee on Women in Medicine
Font size: A  AIPrint

Mentoring and helping female medical students, residents, fellows and physicians to develop leadership skills, move ahead in their careers and have fun in a collegial group are key goals of the Women in Medicine Committee (WIM).

As a woman medical student, resident or young physician, you may have mentors, but in a changing health system, you can never have too many colleagues to pave the way for new experiences.

The WIM Committee serves as a gateway for women physicians to join the ISMA and become involved in policy-making through the annual House of Delegates. Current members submit resolutions to the ISMA House, serve on reference committees, and even run for leadership positions in organized medicine.

The Women in Medicine Committee brings a female point of view to the debate on all issues during the House—and particularly on those topics important to women.

Balancing work and family is one such issue. Learn from those who have been there and thrived!

Just as importantly, members may be as active as they wish, enjoying WIM Committee meetings and events, as their schedules permit.

While the WIM Committee works hard to make women a force in organized medicine, members also know how to kick back and relax in a fun group of supportive colleagues.

2016-17 Women in Medicine Committee
Maria Del Rio, MD, and Heidi Dunniway, MD
Shalin Arnett, DO, Vincennes
Agnes Bacala, MD, Clarksville
Holly Robinson, MD, Madison
Annuradha Bhandari, MD, Richmond
Helen Borgenheimer, MD, Hartford City
Tamara Vadegriff, MD, Frankfort
Rebecca Galante, MD, Munster
Elizabeth Struble, MD, North Manchester
Rhonda Sharp, MD, LaGrange
Natali Balog, MD, South Bend

History of ISMA's Women in Medicine Committee
In 2007 and 2008, a group of women physicians met during ISMA's Annual Convention to determine the interest in forming an ISMA committee of women physicians.  The self-described Women's Caucus established three goals at their 2008 meeting:  (1) Increase ISMA women's membership; (2) Increase ISMA women's participation; and (3) Assist in mentoring medical students and young physicians. 

The group met again on February 4, 2009 (ISMA Medicine Day, Indianapolis) to determine interest in the committee and develop its organization.  On that same day, Dr. David Welsh, ISMA President, officially recognized the ISMA Women in Medicine Ad Hoc Committee and named co-chairs Maria Del Rio, MD, and Heidi Dunniway, MD.   

The Women in Medicine Ad Hoc Committee held its first official meeting on September 26, 2009, in conjunction with the ISMA Annual Convention.  It met three times in 2010, including at ISMA's Annual Convention.  It was then that Drs. Dunniway and Del Rio submitted a resolution requesting the establishment of a standing ISMA Committee on Women in Medicine (WIM), which passed on September 26, 2010. 

The ISMA Bylaws have been revised to include the new WIM Committee.  The Bylaws state:

The duties of this committee shall be to increase membership and participation of female medical students, residents, fellows and physicians in the ISMA and to provide a forum for mentoring, leadership development and collegiality among Indiana Women in Medicine. 

Since the 2010 annual meeting, WIM has continued to hold meetings. 

In 2014, the ISMA installed Heidi Dunniway, MD, co-chair of the Women in Medicine Committee, as ISMA president. Dr. Dunniway is the 2nd female president of the organization.

Also in 2014, convention delegates elected Rhonda Sharp, MD, as president-elect.

Copyright: Information written and displayed on www.ismanet.org is the property of ISMA and may not be reproduced without expressed written permission of the Indiana State Medical Association.

For a more detailed sitemap click here.